Skip to main content

Award of Excellence gets new name


Retired IVP Sandy MacDonald, l., receives congratulations from IVP Ed Power upon being named ― with retired IVP Rick Albright ― as honorees for the Award of Excellence.

Retired IVPs Albright, MacDonald named honorees

SINCE 1995 THE Canadian Boilermakers Apprenticeship Competition Award of Excellence has been named after Donald G. Whan. On June 25, the event retired Whan’s name. Two new honorees now share the title: Richard “Rick” Albright, retired IVP for Western Canada, and Alexander “Sandy” MacDonald, retired IVP for Eastern Canada.

The award, now officially known as the “Richard Albright – Sandy MacDonald Industry Award of Excellence,” is presented annually to a person who has substantially contributed to advancing Boilermaker apprentices and the apprenticeship training program. The physical award is a bronze sculpture of a boiler.

Ole Florell, a retired member of Local 555 (Winnipeg, Manitoba) and a past supervisor with B&W and Alstom Canada, became the first recipient of the renamed award.

Eastern Canada IVP Ed Power presided over the name change during the awards banquet June 25, held at the Fairmont Hotel in Winnipeg, Manitoba. Power paid tribute to Whan for his long involvement with apprentices and his service as president and later business manager of Local 146 (Edmonton, Alberta), International rep, International Vice President, and International Secretary-Treasurer.

“Don did so much for the apprentices and apprenticeship training program through the years,” Power said. “Others have come along afterward who also have contributed a lot of time and effort. It is appropriate that we recognize them as well.”

Power praised Albright and MacDonald, noting that they came up through the ranks as Boilermakers — Albright in Local 146, MacDonald in Local 73 (Halifax, Nova Scotia). Both men held positions in their local lodges before serving as International Reps and later International Vice Presidents. “Both Rick and Sandy sat on the National Training Fund for many years,” Power said. “It’s a real honor to have their names placed on the award.”

Related articles

Locals  L-73, L-146
Reporter  V47N3
Published on the Web: August 7, 2008

Latest News

  • Chuck Westphal was a retired member of Local 169, a representative in the Fight Back program and former president of the Michigan Tri-County Building Trades.

    Boilermaker and former State Building Trades President Chuck Westphal passes

    Read More

  • Two retired L-60 members receive a handmade quilt from the non-profit Quilts of Valor to thank them for their service during the Vietnam War. L. to r.: Rod Johnson, L-60’s John Williams and Jack Cooper, and Terry Johnson.

    Two L-60 veterans awarded Quilts of Valor for military service

    Read More

  • Local 627’s Shane “Kalai” Ferreira, who works for BAE Systems in Hawaii, offers reasons why a strong Jones Act is essential to the nation. L to r: BM-ST Jacob Evenson; Jesse Isleman, legislative aide of Sen. Brian Schatz (D-HI); Wesley Dale and Ferreira.

    Delegates advocate for local and national issues during LEAP

    Read More

  • Warren Fairley, IVP-Southeast, talks about the power in numbers when owners, contractors and Boilermakers collaborate.

    Southeast Area Tripartite homes in on ‘industrial evolution’

    Read More

  •  IR Cory Channon, far right, explains the Boilermakers’ role in CCUS. Left, Ahmad O. Al Khowaiter, Chief Technology Officer, Saudi Aramco; center, Artur Runge-Metzger, Director of Climate Strategy, Governance and Emissions from Non-trading Sectors, DG Climate Action of the European Commission.

    Union makes case for CCUS at Scotland conference

    Read More