Skip to main content

Northeast, Great Lakes hold area competitions


The Northeast Area honors its 2008 contestants. L. to r. are Stephen Murphy, NEABAP co-coordinator; John Cammuso, Babcock Power Inc.; Gary Gresko, L-13 apprenticeship coordinator; Jim Banford Jr., L-13 BM-ST; Paul Spear, L-29 contestant; Timothy Spencer, L-7 contestant; John Cawley, L-13 contestant (NEABAP runner-up); Sean Murphy, NE Area IVP; Chris Torrell, L-28 contestant; Jason Dupuis, NEABAP Co-Coordinator; Donald Goodwin, L-154 contestant (NEABAP winner); and John Hughes, L-154 apprenticeship coordinator.


Great Lakes Area contestants include, l. to r.: Matthew Avery, Local 85 (area runner-up and later national award winner); John Swift, Local 374; Robert E. Theisen, Local 169; and Richard Zeman, Local 647 (area winner and later national runner-up).

Goodwin and Cawley win Northeast; Zeman and Avery win Great Lakes

THE NORTHEAST AND Great Lakes Areas held their annual graduate apprentice competitions jointly May 12-15 at Local 13 (Philadelphia) facilities in Newportsville, Pa. Locals 13 and 28 (Newark, N.J.) hosted the event.

Donald Goodwin of Local 154 (Pittsburgh) and John Cawley of Local 13 placed first and second, respectively, in the Northeast Area Boilermaker Apprentice Program (NEABAP) competition.

Richard Zeman of Local 647 (Minneapolis, Minn.) and Matthew Avery of Local 85 (Toledo, Ohio) placed first and second, respectively, in the Great Lakes Area Boilermaker Apprentice Program (GLABAP) competition.

The top two finishers in each contest went on to represent their areas in the national contest in Kansas City, Kan., Sept. 21-25. Avery won that competition, and Zeman was the national runner-up. The two men also won the team competition.

Also competing in the NEABAP contest were Daniel Badiali, Local 237 (Hartford, Conn.); Paul Spear, Local 29 (Boston); Timothy Spencer, Local 7 (Buffalo, N.Y.); and Chris Torrell, Local 28 (Newark, N.J.).

Other contestants competing in the GLABAP event were John Swift, Local 374 (Hammond, Ind.), and Robert E. Theisen, Local 169 (Detroit). Union judges for the NEABAP contest were Howie Anderson, L-28 welding instructor; Ernie Dorsey, BM-ST, L-193; Nick Gushue, L-13 welding instructor; Bob Heine, Intl. Rep; James Horkay, retired IBB; Phil Hornberger, L-197 welding instructor; Ray Orsi, L-154 welding instructor; Bob Pandori, L-197 welding instructor; and Michael Stanton, L-154 welding instructor. Contractor judges included Mike Bray, Shelby Mechanical, Inc.; John Cammuso, Babcock Power Inc.; Peter Carey, Boiler Erection & Repair; John Carey Sr., Boiler Erection & Repair; Larry Ross, NAES Power Contractors; and Matthew Schmitt, Simakas Brothers Co.

Union judges representing the GLABAP were Intl. Rep Pat Stefancin and Local 1 (Chicago) Assist. Bus. Mgr. Robert Schwartz. The GLABAP contractor judges included Ron Brian, Morrison Construction, and Tom Sciarra, Forrest City.

Locals  L-7, L-14, L-28, L-29, L-85, L-154, L-169, L-374, L-647
Published on the Web: November 3, 2008

Latest News

  • Delegates Andy Labeck and Christopher Donahue of Local 5, Zone 5 talk to a legislative staffer about the need to repeal the Cadillac tax, during the 2019 LEAP Conference in Washington, D.C.

    House Democrats and Republicans vote to repeal ‘Cadillac tax’

    Read More

  • IVP-Western States J. Tom Baca welcomes participants to the 2019 California Refinery Tripartite Conference in Napa.

    Second California Refinery Tripartite spotlights manpower, skillsets and safety

    Read More

  • Boilermakers’ film partner Wide Awake Films won a Bronze Telly award for the video they produced about the L-D239 lockout.

    Boilermakers, partners win awards for campaign against lockout

    Read More

  • Forty members of L-627 gathered in the courtyard of the Arizona State Capitol for the local’s first annual Day of Action.

    L-627 contingent visits state legislators for Day of Action

    Read More

  • L-83 dispatcher Tatum Keister

    Money brought her to the union; the Brotherhood keeps her here

    Read More