English | Español

Local leaders advance skills in labor representation

Basic Class

BOILERMAKERS FROM THE United States and Canada attended the 62nd annual School for Workers Summer Institute in Madison, Wisconsin, August 12-23. Topics covered in the basic session included collective bargaining, strategies to build worker cohesiveness, membership mobilization, contract enforcement, and health and safety. Issues in the advanced session included building union membership, workers and the global economy, unfair labor practices and grievance handling, among others.

Basic Class attendees were, front row, l. to r., Associate Professor Alexia Kulwiec, School for Workers; Andrea Chabotte, Local 614 (New London, Connecticut); Mya Fillingham, International staff;  Nicholas Gwitt, Local 696 (Marinette, Wisconsin); Jason Holmes, Local 344 (Ridgecrest, California); Virginia Staggs, International staff; Mallory Smith, International staff; Cynthia Stapp, International staff; Julie Brame, International staff; Shae Jones, International staff; Associate Professor Armando Ibarra, School for Workers. Back row, l. to r., Teresa Pellinen, Local 696; John Rylko, Local 487 (Kewaunee, Wisconsin); Leo Cuffe, Local 696; Dan McWhirter, Local 374 (Hobart, Indiana); Chance Ellison, Local 108 (Birmingham, Alabama); Jorge Morales, Local 614 (Groton, Connecticut); Curt Smith, International staff; Louis Neilio, Local 696; Derek Zurowski, International staff; Lonnie Kinjerski, Local 487. Luke Lafley, Local 242 (Spokane, Washington); Domingo Melchor, Local 344; and Michael Reynolds, Kel Sharpe and Dermain Waters, all from Local 684 (Chesapeake, Virginia).

Advanced Class attendees were, front row, l. to r., Professor Don Taylor, School for Workers; Julie Brame, International staff; Liz Nunez, School for Workers; Associate Professor Armando Ibarra, School for Workers. Second row: Virginia Staggs, International staff; Jacob Miller, Local D414 (Pryor, Oklahoma); Ben Heurung, Local 104 (Seattle). Third row: Lawrence "Mike" Dessart, Local 696; Professor Michael Childers, School for Workers; Josh Meigs, Local D93 (Humboldt, Kansas) ; Mya Fillingham, International Staff; Madison Everson, International staff; Shae Jones, International staff; Marvin Elkins, Local 696. Fourth row: Ernie Johnson, Local 108; Herbie Baron, Local 580 (Halifax, Nova Scotia); Derek Zurowski, International staff. Back row: Steve Adair, International staff; Chip Tiegreen, Local D93; Dan McWhirter, Local 374.