English | Español

D11 holds annual educational conference

Cement District Lodge D11 held its 2017 conference in Sun Peaks, British Columbia last July. Attending were, front row, l. to r., Tony Andrade, BM-ST, D10; Randy Martin, D331; Wayne Cameron, D331; Brent Hunnisett, D486; Rob Lauzon, IR; Kevin Sheptycki, D11; Jordan Dunne, D400; Scott Slade, D359; and Nathan Blais, D277. Second row, l. to r., Josh Deweerd, D385; Elloitt Cramner-Sargison, D331; Nate Reily, D486; Phyllis Van Rhyn, D385; Greg Dunning, D385; Dan Kerr, D277; Bryson Lindy, D385; Jeff Olson, D575; and Adam Rutledge, D345. Back row, l. to r., Phil Oberholzer, D331; Kevin Mathews, D331; Mike Brerton, D486; Kevin Forsyth, D11 BM-ST; Richard Smith, D385; Dan Tickner, D277; Ryan Mountain, D277; Gerald Andries, D345; and Mike Middleton, D400.

Cement lodge leaders discuss bargaining and steward training

CEMENT DISTRICT LODGE D11, encompassing 13 affiliated lodges in Western Canada, held its annual conference for lodge leaders July 10-13 in Sun Peaks, British Columbia. The conference offered local leaders the opportunity to learn more about their role in the union and to network with other leaders within the district. Educational sessions included information on drug and alcohol testing, group insurance, basic steward training and benefit bargaining.

“We appreciate these members. They do their regular job and then give their time to the betterment of their union,” said D11 BM-ST Kevin Forsyth, noting the conference also gave leaders the opportunity to network.

International Rep Rob Lauzon (now retired) said he was happy to see such a strong cast of leaders in D11. “From the experienced leaders to the new ones that are stepping forward to carry the torch for the union, D11 is in good hands today and in the future.”

Formed in 1984 when the Cement, Lime, Gypsum, and Allied Workers Union merged with the Boilermakers, District Lodge D11 represents about 900 members in the cement, wall board, and quarrying industries. Affiliated lodges include, D274 (Winnipeg, Manitoba); D277 (Vancouver); D331 (Exshaw, Alberta); D345 (Calgary); D359 (Edmonton, Alberta and Regina, Saskatchewan); D385 (Richmond, B.C.); D400 (Vancouver); D479 (Invermere, B.C.); D486 (New Westminster, B.C.); D503 (Kamloops, B.C.); D513 Edmonton, Alberta); and D575 (Moosehorn, Manitoba).