Skip to main content

IEC scholarship committee announces 2011 local, CFL winners


Raquel Hannah Warchol, $2,000 CFL scholarship award winner


WINNERS OF LOCAL 83's $3,000 scholarship awards are, l. to r., Andrew White, Dylan Cruse, and Joshua Burks. Not pictured is $3,000 recipient Jordan Albertson.

THE BOILERMAKERS’ International Executive Council has announced its selection of scholarship award recipients for three local lodges and the Canadian Federation of Labor (CFL).

The committee selected Raquel Hannah Warchol, daughter of David Warchol L-359 (Burnaby, British Columbia) , to receive the $2,000 CFL scholarship award. Raquel, a proficient musician, plans to study music performance at Capilano University.

The committee also announced the winners of local scholarship awards. Jessica Lynn Sizemore and Abby Michelle Clevenger will each receive a $2,000 scholarship award from Local Lodge 105 (Piketon, Ohio); Chelsea LeeAnn Higdon will receive a $500 scholarship award from Local 14 (Chattanooga, Tenn.); Emily Michelle Haire will receive a $2,000 scholarship award, and Brittany L. Hauser will receive a $1,000 scholarship award from Local 146 (Edmonton, Alberta).

Local 13 awards 23 grants totaling $232,000

LOCAL LODGE 13, Philadelphia, announced the winners of 23 academic scholarship awards, each totaling $8,000, in addition to the $2,400 Jeffrey C. Davis Graduate award and one $2,400 vocational scholarship. Winners were selected from dependents of Local 13 members who participated in the local’s annual competition.

The academic grants will be awarded over a period of four years — $1,000 per semester for eight semesters. The vocational grant, funded by the widow of the apprentice Jeffrey C. Davis (who was killed in a 2002 job-site explosion), as well as the Jeffrey C. Davis Graduate award, will be awarded over a period of two years at $600 per semester for four semesters.

The Local 13 scholarship committee does not release names of scholarship winners for publication.

Local 83 awards four $3,000 grants

LOCAL LODGE 83, Kansas City, Mo., announces the winners of four $3,000 scholarship awards: James Andrew White, son of L-83 member Brad White, Dylan Cruse, son of L-83 member Randy Cruse, Joshua Burks, son of L-83 member Chris Burks, and Jordan Albertson, daughter of L-83 member Scot Albertson.

Local 83 also presents four annual $750 scholarship awards from the Omaha/SW Iowa Building Trades Council. Winners for 2011 are Joshua Burks, son of L-83 member Chris Burks; Shannon McKenzie, son of L-83 member Jim McKenzie; Jordan Albertson, daughter of L-83 member Scot Albertson; and Dylan Cruse, son of L-83 member Randy Cruse.

Local 108 presents scholarship grants totaling $5,000

LOCAL 108, BIRMINGHAM, Ala., announces the winners of its five $1,000 annual scholarship awards: Ashton MacDonald, son of L-108 member Robert MacDonald; Kari Hatley daughter of L-108 member L. A. Hatley; Victoria Payne, daughter of L-108 member Bill Payne; Brett Marler, son of L-108 member Jesse Marler; and Joseph Bell, son of L-108 member John Weldon.

Related Articles


Locals  L-13, L-14, L-83, L-105, L-108, L-146, L-359
Reporter  V50N3
Published on the Web: November 4, 2011

Latest News

  • Retired IVP-NE Michael Murphy passes

    Read More

  • Locals award service pins

    Read More

  • Newton B. Jones, Intl. President

    End of federal wind industry handouts is long overdue

    Read More

  • The Army National Guard helped those stranded in flood waters caused by Hurricane Harvey, which made an August landfall in Texas.

    Hurricanes and fires affect dozens of Boilermakers

    Read More

  • Boilermakers - Changing with the Times

    Read More