LEAP offers silver commemorative coin

The LEAP 2008 40th anniversary coin reflects the anniversary date on one side, the Boilermakers’ official seal on the other.

Limited-quantity available for $100 CAF donation

FOR A LIMITED TIME, members who make a $100 contribution to the Boilermakers’ Campaign Assistance Fund (CAF) will receive a silver coin commemorating the 40th anniversary of the Boilermakers’ annual conference of the Legislative Education Action Program (LEAP).

Each coin contains one troy ounce of 0.999 pure silver and is 40.6 mm (about 1.6 inches) in diameter. Quantities are limited (only 100 coins were produced).

One side of the coin features the Boilermakers’ official seal; the other depicts the anniversary date. For each $100 donation made to CAF by personal funds (not union or general treasury money) a commemorative coin and recognition in the Boilermaker Reporter will be given to the donor. Only personal checks or money orders can be accepted; no cash. For more information, contact the Boilermakers’ Government Affairs Department at 703-560-1493.

CAF is funded solely through voluntary, personal contributions from Boilermaker union members, officers, staff, and retirees. Contributions to CAF are not a condition of employment. Donations to CAF are not deductible for federal income tax purposes. CAF is used primarily to make contributions to federal election campaigns for the United States House and Senate, and will not directly contribute to a 2008 presidential primary or general campaign.

As of May 22, 2008, 82 coins have been distributed. Each of the following members received one coin, unless indicated differently: Carey Allen, Carol Almond, Michael Autry, Steven Beal, Abe Breehey, Shannon Brett, Charlie Brock, Joseph Brown, David Bunch, Don Caswell, John Chapman, Howard Cole, Cecile Conroy, Jim Cooksey, Rocco DeRollo, Gary Evans, Phillipp Evans (3), Kyle Evenson, Jack Frost, Patrick Gallagher, Dusty Garmon, Len Gunderson, Danny Hamilton, Vinson Harper, Bob Hutsell, David Impson, Tony Jacobs, Newton B. Jones, Mark Kelly, Mark Kerscher, Dennis King, Benjamin Kosiek (2), David Lawrence (2), Bobby Lunsford, Gerard Maciejewski (7), Steve Mantz (7), Bridget Martin, Pat McMahon, Larry McManamon, Al Meadowcroft, Larry Moore, Tim O’Leary, Jim Pressley (2), Clayton Plummer, J.T. Rhea, John Roeber, George Rogers (2), Jay Rojo (4), Curtis Smith, Steve Speed, Martin Spencer, Bill Staggs, Tim Timmons, Blane Tom, Ed Vance, Mark Vandiver, Ronny Vanscoy (2), Raymond Ventrone, Beverly Waters, and Glenn Worton.