Local 60 awards 17 $500 scholarships

L-60 BM-ST Ed Hebert (l.) presents scholarship awards to nine of the local’s 17 winners: Corey Crawford, William Burress, Rikki Alsvig, Jacob Grilc, Lyndsey Vincent, Lydia Vincent, Mallory Hunt, Jenny Sorrell, and Rhianna Neubaum.

Members participate in fund-raisers throughout year to finance education program

Local Lodge 60 (Peoria, Ill.) announced the winners of its second annual scholarship award on October 21, 2006. A total of $8,500 was awarded to 17 scholarship recipients. The one-year, $500 grants were awarded to every 2006 applicant — all Local 60 Boilermakers or their dependents. Only Local 60 members — or the spouse, child, or grandchild of a Local 60 member — are eligible for this scholarship award.

For the second year in a row, Local 60 members participated in fund-raisers to help raise money for the scholarships. They sponsored a golf outing, conducted 50/50 drawings, and collected donations from various groups. They raised enough money last year that every Local 60 scholarship applicant was awarded a $500 grant.

Recipients of Local 60’s second annual scholarship award include Rikki Lynn Alsvig, granddaughter of Oatley Burress; Alyssa Dynae Bauer, daughter of Gary Bauer; William David Burress, son of Bill Burress; Corey Robert Crawford, son of Loren Crawford; Jacob John Grilc, son of Mark Grilc; Darcy Jo Hamilton, granddaughter of Harold Toureene; Zachary Elliott Harrison, son of Dwain Harrison; Mallory L. Hunt, daughter of Gary Hunt; Nora Nicole Miskell, daughter of Tom Miskell; Rhianna Taylor Neubaum, granddaughter of Calvin Neubaum; Jenny Jacqueline Sorrell, daughter of Jimmy Jo Sorrell; Kara B. Spooner, granddaughter of Harold Toureene; Stacy Stear, daughter of Jamie Stear; Lydia Christina Vincent and Lyndsey Rose Vincent, daughters of Jeff Vincent; Sara L. Wilson, daughter of Scott Wilson; and Katie Elizabeth Witzman, daughter of Charlie Witzman.