Skip to main content
English | Español

Organizers add 78 members to L-S234


International staff and L-S234 volunteers participate in an internal organizing drive for Tennsco workers.

In-plant effort focuses on solidarity, union advantage

BOILERMAKER ORGANIZERS, OTHER International staff members and Local S234 volunteers added 78 new members to the local lodge through an internal organizing campaign in Dickson, Tennessee, this past August. The lodge represents employees of Tennsco, a manufacturer of cabinets, shelving and other storage products.

The campaign ran for two weekends and involved visits to non-member homes to discuss the advantages of union membership.

Director of Organizing Jody Mauller said internal organizing is about growing the Brotherhood and building strength.

“The number of dues-paying members is directly related to the strength of the union,” he stated. “When we increase the number of dues-paying members, we increase the bargaining power of the union.”

Mauller stressed that building union strength is especially important now, as contract negotiations between L-S234 and Tennsco are set to start in January. He said union membership also brings many advantages to workers beyond bargaining clout, including Union Plus discounts on products and services, free membership in the Union Sportsmen’s Alliance, and eligibility to run for union office, vote in union elections and vote on collective bargaining agreements.

L-S234 members who joined the union during the recent drive include: Thomas Almond, Ethan Atkinson, Richard Atkinson, Kolita Baxter, Crystal Boone, David Brazzell, Dallas Brown, Gary Buswell, Modesto Carrera, Susan Christian, Joseph Conway, David Coons, Juan Corona, Sandra Cotton, Christopher Cravens, Rebecca Croff, Gerald Curtis, Robert Donegan, Justin Duke, Jamie Evans, Adrienne Fifth, Nicholas Forester, Sean Forrester, Duran Geisen, Gerald Gonzalez, William Harrell, Milton Harris, Tiffany Hassert, Kenny Hollinsworth, Coty Hollis, Scotty Hooper, Ronald Hughes, Dalton Lance, Timothy Mathers, Griselda Meza, Jeri Moss, Rosa Mota, Jay Nash, James Oliphant, Shaunda Pace, Jacob Pannell, Nicholas Parker, John Pendergrass, Michael Pierce, Donovan Pittman, Edward Plunkett, Russell Priest, Christopher Prince, James Pullum, Joshua Reese, Racheal Rogers, Robert Rogers, Stacey Rogers, Brandon Ruffin, Robert Russell, Cody Scarbrough, Gregory Shook, Johnny Smith, Teresa Smith, Tyler Smith, Roy Springer, Lonnie Stewart, Timothy Stuard, Matthew Tarkington, Matthew Taylor, Brian Terlecki, Joshua Thompson, Jason Tinsley, Matthew Upchurch, Jacob Vaughn, Dale Wallace, Robert Webb, Zachery Werfel, Raianna Werning, Jimmy White, Phillip Williford, Jason Wills and Fred Wright.

Locals  L-S234
Reporter  V56N3
Published on the Web: October 12, 2017

Latest News

  • MOST holds OSHA 'train the trainer' classes

    MOST holds OSHA 'train the trainer' classes

    Read More

  • SCOTT HAMMOND, BM-ST of Local 105 (Piketon, Ohio), accepts the John F. Erickson NACBE Safety Award on behalf of his lodge during the 2018 Construction Sector Operations Conference in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, March 5.  L. to r. are IST Bill Creeden, IVP-GL Larry McManamon, NACBE Executive Director Ron Traxler, Hammond and IP Newton Jones.

    Local 105 earns highest safety honor

    Read More

  • Day 1 participants

    Members of Local 83 complete Code training

    Read More

  • International Reps attend training in Kansas City

    International Reps attend training in Kansas City

    Read More

  • Starting third from left, l. to r.: Tony Ciferni, Ed Harkins, John Bland, BM-ST Martin Williams and Martin Willis.

    Boilermakers help thwart county right-to-work measure

    Read More