Skip to main content
English | Español

Boilermakers craft new LEAP award


Photos courtesy of Brett Pruitt, East Market Studios


The wooden model, created from a 3D drawing and a 3D router.


Centuries-old wax casting method, with a rubber mold and casting frame.


Silicon bronze quill pens before finishing and polishing.


A rubber mold of the base, created from a 3D-drawn and 3D-printed plastic model.

Quill pen sculpture is stroke of historic inspiration

LEGISLATORS OF THE Year who were honored at the 50th anniversary LEAP conference in Washington, D.C., April 24 received a very special gift from the union — a bronze quill pen sculpture uniquely designed and crafted by the Boilermaker History Preservation Department (BHPD).

The quill pen is seated on a simulated carved marble column with the words “integrity,” “courage,” “wisdom” and “statesmanship” engraved at the column’s base. The 2-foot-tall award weighs 5 1/2 pounds. Inspiration for the design hearkened back to the founding fathers, said BHPD Director Charles Jones. “Our constitution was hand-written in ink by men who set aside their differences and quarrels to produce the blueprint for building the greatest country on earth.”

To craft the quill pen, BHPD staff used 3D drawing software and a 3D router as well as a centuries-old “lost wax” casting method.

Creating the sculpture involved making a wooden model, a rubber mold and a wax casting. A ceramic shell was then formed around the casting and fired in a kiln, a process that removes the wax, leaving behind a ceramic mold cavity in the precise shape of the quill pen. The mold was then filled with molten silicon bronze and allowed to cool. Finally, each quill was finished and polished, TIG welded to a mounting post and attached to the base, which the BHPD crafted using using 3D design and printing processes.

International President Newton B. Jones presented the first two newly designed awards to 2018 Legislators of the Year Senator Heidi Heitkamp and Representative Marcy Kaptur (D-OH 9th).

The Abe Breehey Legislator of the Year Award is named after the late Boilermakers Legislative Director who passed away in 2011.

Tags  LEAP Issues
Reporter  V57N2
Published on the Web: May 8, 2018

Latest News

  • Mark Felger, L-104, fires up a rosebud torch to make the "Cadillac of winches" at Markey Machinery in Seattle.

    Local 104 makes its mark on top-of-the-line marine deck equipment

    Read More

  • Paige Gray and Stephanie Zundel (tandem cycle on right) work their way up the pack at the UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships in Milton, Ontario. Gray is a control room operator at Black Hills Power in Pueblo, Colorado, and L-101 sponsors the racing duo. (Photo credit: Simon Wilkinson)

    World-championship para-cycling team gets kick-start from L-101

    Read More

  • Thousands of participants gathered in Madrid, Spain, from around the world to discuss climate change solutions during the United Nations’ COP25. (The event was moved from Santiago, Chile, to Madrid due to unrest in Chile.)

    Boilermakers advocate for CCUS at COP25

    Read More

  • D-NRS-CSO Tim Simmons, left, presents a retirement gift from the Boilermakers to Dave Douin, Boilermaker and outgoing executive director of the National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors.

    Douin retires from national inspection board

    Read More

  • Celebrating the partnership between GLABAP and LCCC are, from l. to r., BNAP Coordinator Mark Wertz, LCCC President Marcia Ballinger, Ph.D, GLABAP Coordinator Larry McManamon Jr. and L-744 BM-ST Martin Mahom.

    Partnership offers college credits for apprentices in Great Lakes

    Read More