English | Español

Organizers add 78 members to L-S234

International staff and L-S234 volunteers participate in an internal organizing drive for Tennsco workers.

In-plant effort focuses on solidarity, union advantage

BOILERMAKER ORGANIZERS, OTHER International staff members and Local S234 volunteers added 78 new members to the local lodge through an internal organizing campaign in Dickson, Tennessee, this past August. The lodge represents employees of Tennsco, a manufacturer of cabinets, shelving and other storage products.

The campaign ran for two weekends and involved visits to non-member homes to discuss the advantages of union membership.

Director of Organizing Jody Mauller said internal organizing is about growing the Brotherhood and building strength.

“The number of dues-paying members is directly related to the strength of the union,” he stated. “When we increase the number of dues-paying members, we increase the bargaining power of the union.”

Mauller stressed that building union strength is especially important now, as contract negotiations between L-S234 and Tennsco are set to start in January. He said union membership also brings many advantages to workers beyond bargaining clout, including Union Plus discounts on products and services, free membership in the Union Sportsmen’s Alliance, and eligibility to run for union office, vote in union elections and vote on collective bargaining agreements.

L-S234 members who joined the union during the recent drive include: Thomas Almond, Ethan Atkinson, Richard Atkinson, Kolita Baxter, Crystal Boone, David Brazzell, Dallas Brown, Gary Buswell, Modesto Carrera, Susan Christian, Joseph Conway, David Coons, Juan Corona, Sandra Cotton, Christopher Cravens, Rebecca Croff, Gerald Curtis, Robert Donegan, Justin Duke, Jamie Evans, Adrienne Fifth, Nicholas Forester, Sean Forrester, Duran Geisen, Gerald Gonzalez, William Harrell, Milton Harris, Tiffany Hassert, Kenny Hollinsworth, Coty Hollis, Scotty Hooper, Ronald Hughes, Dalton Lance, Timothy Mathers, Griselda Meza, Jeri Moss, Rosa Mota, Jay Nash, James Oliphant, Shaunda Pace, Jacob Pannell, Nicholas Parker, John Pendergrass, Michael Pierce, Donovan Pittman, Edward Plunkett, Russell Priest, Christopher Prince, James Pullum, Joshua Reese, Racheal Rogers, Robert Rogers, Stacey Rogers, Brandon Ruffin, Robert Russell, Cody Scarbrough, Gregory Shook, Johnny Smith, Teresa Smith, Tyler Smith, Roy Springer, Lonnie Stewart, Timothy Stuard, Matthew Tarkington, Matthew Taylor, Brian Terlecki, Joshua Thompson, Jason Tinsley, Matthew Upchurch, Jacob Vaughn, Dale Wallace, Robert Webb, Zachery Werfel, Raianna Werning, Jimmy White, Phillip Williford, Jason Wills and Fred Wright.