Skip to main content
English | Español

Boilermakers craft new LEAP award


Photos courtesy of Brett Pruitt, East Market Studios


The wooden model, created from a 3D drawing and a 3D router.


Centuries-old wax casting method, with a rubber mold and casting frame.


Silicon bronze quill pens before finishing and polishing.


A rubber mold of the base, created from a 3D-drawn and 3D-printed plastic model.

Quill pen sculpture is stroke of historic inspiration

LEGISLATORS OF THE Year who were honored at the 50th anniversary LEAP conference in Washington, D.C., April 24 received a very special gift from the union — a bronze quill pen sculpture uniquely designed and crafted by the Boilermaker History Preservation Department (BHPD).

The quill pen is seated on a simulated carved marble column with the words “integrity,” “courage,” “wisdom” and “statesmanship” engraved at the column’s base. The 2-foot-tall award weighs 5 1/2 pounds. Inspiration for the design hearkened back to the founding fathers, said BHPD Director Charles Jones. “Our constitution was hand-written in ink by men who set aside their differences and quarrels to produce the blueprint for building the greatest country on earth.”

To craft the quill pen, BHPD staff used 3D drawing software and a 3D router as well as a centuries-old “lost wax” casting method.

Creating the sculpture involved making a wooden model, a rubber mold and a wax casting. A ceramic shell was then formed around the casting and fired in a kiln, a process that removes the wax, leaving behind a ceramic mold cavity in the precise shape of the quill pen. The mold was then filled with molten silicon bronze and allowed to cool. Finally, each quill was finished and polished, TIG welded to a mounting post and attached to the base, which the BHPD crafted using using 3D design and printing processes.

International President Newton B. Jones presented the first two newly designed awards to 2018 Legislators of the Year Senator Heidi Heitkamp and Representative Marcy Kaptur (D-OH 9th).

The Abe Breehey Legislator of the Year Award is named after the late Boilermakers Legislative Director who passed away in 2011.

Tags  LEAP Issues
Reporter  V57N2
Published on the Web: May 8, 2018

Latest News

  • Sixteen members from across Canada completed a week-long project management course in Toronto late January.

    Canadian members complete project management course

    Read More

  • Jim Phillips stands inside “Jim’s Horn House.”

    Jim Phillips amasses 60-year antler collection

    Read More

  • Outgoing IVP-Canada Joe Maloney

    IVP-Canada Maloney retires

    Read More

  • Scouts earn merit badge at L-83

    Scouts earn merit badge at L-83

    Read More

  • Tim Simmons, director of National Recruitment Services, draws interested students to the IBB booth at the career expo at Greenville Technical College’s Center for Manufacturing Innovation (CMI) in Greenville, South Carolina. Photo courtesy of Greenville Technical College, Copyright 2019

    Boilermakers’ booth popular with career expo participants

    Read More